Lack of organization on your part does not constitute an emergency on my part

Repeat after me: Lack of organization on your part does not constitute an emergency on my part.

For some, a problem should not be foreseen, but rather undergone. You can be as unorganized as you like, I really don’t care. However, you can’t come to me like a headless chicken, assuming I will drop everything I’m doing to help you. I don’t want you to export your swirling vortex of entropy1 unto me!

I know, I know, you are telling to yourself “Oh, but I will help this poor unorganized soul a single time, he needs me!” NO! You won’t, and you know it! You will always help them, unless you stick to your methodology. And unless you resist, you might very well turn into a headless chicken too! This thing is contagious.

Here’s how I’m trying to resist (yes, still a work in progress) with a simple todo list:

  1. Sort your priorities;
  2. Do them in order;
  3. When a wild headless chicken appears, finish the task at hand and add his request to your todo list.
  4. Goto step 1. It’s super effective.

Tada! This way you can still be agile enough to adapt to new situations, and yet use though love to help your beloved headless chicken.


One response to “Lack of organization on your part does not constitute an emergency on my part

Leave a Reply

